Steely Dan - Countdown To Ecstasy

Steely Dan
Countdown To Ecstasy
Label: ABC Records ‎– ABCX-779, MCA Records ‎– MCA-37041
Series: Platinum Plus –
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue
Country: US
Date of released: Feb 1982
Category: Rock
Style: Pop Rock

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Bodhisattva 5:16
A2 Razor Boy
Double Bass [String Bass] – Ray Brown
A3 The Boston Rag 5:48
A4 Your Gold Teeth 6:45
B1 Show Biz Kids
Slide Guitar – Rick Derringer
B2 My Old School
Arranged By [Saxes] – Jimmie HaskellSaxophone – Bill Perkins, Ernie Watts, John Rotella, Lanny Morgan
B3 Pearl Of The Quarter 3:55
B4 King Of The World 5:03

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – ABC Records, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – ABC Records, Inc.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – MCA Records, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – MCA Records, Inc.
  • Published By – American Broadcasting Music, Inc.
  • Engineered At – The Village Recorder
  • Recorded At – Caribou Ranch
  • Pressed By – MCA Pressing Plant, Pinckneyville


  • Acoustic Guitar – Ben Benay
  • Backing Vocals [Additional Background Vocals] – David Palmer , James Rolleston, Michael Fenelly*, Myrna Matthews, Patricia Hall, Sherlie Matthews
  • Design [Album Design] – Dotty Of Hollywood
  • Drums, Percussion, Vocals – Jim Hodder
  • Electric Bass [Electric Bass Guitar], Harmonica, Vocals – Walter Becker
  • Engineer – Roger (The Immortal) Nichols*
  • Guitar – Denny Dias
  • Guitar, Pedal Steel Guitar – Jeff "Skunk" Baxter*
  • Management [Personal Management] – Kudo III
  • Mixed By [Stereo Mixmaster General] – Denny Dias
  • Photography By [Photograph] – Ed Caraeff
  • Piano, Electric Piano, Synthesizer, Vocals – Donald Fagen
  • Producer – Gary Katz
  • Vibraphone [Vibes], Marimba, Percussion – Victor Feldman
  • Written-By – D. Fagen*, W. Becker*


Similar to Steely Dan - Countdown To Ecstasy, but with MCA rainbow and clouds labels.

ABCX-779 catalog number printed on the sleeve, MCA-37041 catalog number stamped on the sleeve and on the labels.

℗1973 ABC Records, Inc.
ABC Records, Inc. ©1973 Los Angeles, California 90048
New York, New York 10019
Printed in U.S.A.

℗ 1973 MCA Records, Inc.
©1980 MCA Records, Inc.
Mfd. by MCA Records, Inc., 70 Universal Plaza, Universal City, Calif. 91608

Engineered at Village Recorder, Santa Monica
Rick Derringer recorded at Carabou Ranch, Nederland, Colorado (courtesy of Columbia Records)

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Label, side A): AB-779-A
  • Matrix / Runout (Label, side B): AB-779-B
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side A): AB 779 A W1 ⧈̶-̶G̶-̶⧈̶ I◈-P-◈
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout, side B): AB 779 B W2 ◈-P-◈I
  • Rights Society: ASCAP

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
ABCX-779 Steely Dan Countdown To Ecstasy ‎(LP, Album, 1st) ABC Records ABCX-779 US 1973
18P2-2693 Steely Dan Countdown To Ecstasy ‎(CD, Album, RE) MCA Records 18P2-2693 Japan 1989
CQD-40010 Steely Dan Countdown To Ecstasy ‎(LP, Album, Quad, RE) ABC Command Quadraphonic CQD-40010 US 1974
MCA-37041, MCA 37041 Steely Dan Countdown To Ecstasy ‎(LP, Album, RE) MCA Records, MCA Records MCA-37041, MCA 37041 US 1980
ABCX-779 Steely Dan Countdown To Ecstasy ‎(LP, Album) ABC Records ABCX-779 US 1973