Hoyt Axton - Free Sailin'

Hoyt Axton
Folk, World, & Country
Free Sailin'
Label: MCA Records ‎– MCA-2319
Type: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Date of released: 1978
Category: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country, Folk


A1 Bluebird 2:49
A2 Honky Tonk Music 3:23
A3 The Way Of The World 2:23
A4 The Heart You Break (May Be Your Own) 3:04
A5 Jive Man 2:27
B1 Free Sailing 2:49
B2 Them Downers 2:10
B3 Left My Gal In The Mountains 2:36
B4 Darrell & Judy 2:28
B5 Endless Road 2:18

Companies, etc.

  • Pressed By – MCA Pressing Plant, Pinckneyville


  • Acoustic Guitar – Bill Kirchen (tracks: B3, B5), Jay Lacy (tracks: A1 to B2, B4)
  • Bass Guitar – Jack Skinner (tracks: A1, A4, B2)
  • Drums – Dewey Martin (tracks: A1, A2, A4), Jim Keltner (tracks: A5, B1, B4)
  • Electric Guitar – Bill Kirchen (tracks: A1 to A4, B1, B5)
  • Fiddle – Byron Berline (tracks: A1, B2)
  • Harmonica – Mark Dawson (tracks: A1, A2, B3, B5)
  • Piano – Glen D. Harden* (tracks: A1 to B1, B4)
  • Steel Guitar [Pedal] – Pete Grant (tracks: A1, A2, A4, B2)


Recorded at Music Recorders, Inc. (MRI), Hollywood, California. Mix-down at Jack Clement Studio, Nashville, Tennessee. Mastered at MCA Recording Studio.

Issued with a lyrics sheet.

"◈-P-◈" stamped in runouts denotes an MCA Pressing Plant, Pinckneyville pressing.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Matrix / Runout (Runout Both Sides, Stamped): ◈-P-◈

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
MCF 2831 Hoyt Axton Free Sailin' ‎(LP, Album) MCA Records MCF 2831 UK 1978
MCAT-2319 Hoyt Axton Free Sailin' ‎(8-Trk, Album) MCA Records MCAT-2319 US 1978
MCAC-648, MCAC 648 Hoyt Axton Free Sailin' ‎(Cass, Album) MCA Records, MCA Records MCAC-648, MCAC 648 US 1980
MCA-2319 Hoyt Axton Free Sailin' ‎(LP, Album) MCA Records MCA-2319 Canada 1978
EDCD 471 Hoyt Axton Free Sailin' ‎(CD, Album) Edsel Records EDCD 471 UK 1996