Ray Russell Featuring Gil Evans And Mark Isham - Childscape

Ray Russell
Label: B&W ‎– BW012, B&W Music ‎– BW012
Type: CD, Album, Reissue
Country: UK
Date of released: 1990
Category: Electronic, Jazz
Style: New Age

Tracklist Hide Credits

1 Outland
Bass Guitar – Mo FosterFlugelhorn – Mark IshamGuitar, Synthesizer [Synthesizers] – Ray RussellPercussion – Frank Riccotti*
2 Prelude 1
Synth [Synths], Panpipes [Pan Pipes] – Ray Russell
3 Pour Me A Fish
Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Guitar Synthesizer, Percussion – Ray Russell
4 Blue Shoes - No Dance
Classical Guitar – Ray RussellPiano – Tony Hymas
5 Lundy Island
Double Bass – Mo FosterGuitar, Synthesizer, Percussion – Ray Russell
6 The Pan Piper
Bass Guitar [Acoustic] – Mo FosterElectric Piano – Gil EvansGuitar, Synth – Ray RussellPercussion – Frank Riccotti*Trumpet – Mark Isham
7 Childscape
Acoustic Guitar, Percussion – Ray RussellBacking Vocals, Toy [Toys] – George Stanley BaldwinPiano – Tony Hymas
8 Point Perfect
Bass Guitar – Mo FosterGuitar Synthesizer [Guitar Synth], Piano – Ray RussellTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Mark Isham
9 Prelude 2
Synthesizer – Mark Isham
10 If Only....
Acoustic Guitar, Synthesizer, Panpipes [Pan Pipes], Percussion – Ray Russell
11 Murmers In Reverse
Acoustic Guitar, Synthesizer, Percussion – Ray RussellFretless Bass [Fretless Bass Guitar] – Mo FosterTrumpet, Flugelhorn – Mark Isham
12 Sketches Of Gil
Electric Piano – Gil EvansTenor Guitar – Ray RussellTrumpet – Mark Isham

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Interpress
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – B&W Loudspeakers Ltd.
  • Copyright (c) – B&W Loudspeakers Ltd.


  • Engineer – Simon Smart
  • Executive-Producer – Robert Trunz
  • Producer – Ray Russell, Simon Smart


Recorded and mixed at Last Chance Recordings, London.
Mark Isham: Trumpet and Flugelhorn recorded at Deronda Drive Studios, Los Angeles, California.
Gil Evans: Piano recorded at R.P.M. Studios, New York City, New York.
Transcription of the 'Pan Piper' from the original recording by Gil Evans and Miles Davis on 'Sketches Of Spain' by Kevin Townend.
Mark Isham appears courtesy of Virgin America.
Mo Foster appears courtesy of MCC Recordings
Ray Russell uses Steinburger Guitars
Special thanks to Doreen, Ellis and Chic for all their support and to Sally for her creative thinking through the making of this album. Also to Kevin Townend for his painstaking work on the transcription of 'The Pan Piper' and specially to George and Charlie for being - ours.
This album was mastered using Dolby® Spectoral Recording.

All titles published by Last Chance Music Ltd. Except for 'Lundy Island' & 'If Only....' published by Music House International. 'The Pan Piper' Copyright MCPS Ltd.

To eavesdrop... as if the ear was so very far from the ground. Then... as we hear children laughing, music is born. Memory has released its angel.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (Printed - Sticker on inlay): 5 023767 010124
  • Barcode: 5023767010124
  • Matrix / Runout: INTERPRESS BW 012
  • Other (Embossed around hub ): INTERPESS COMPACT DISC MADE IN W. GERMANY

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
834 107-2 Ray Russell Why Not Now ‎(CD, Album) Theta 834 107-2 Europe 1988
834 107-1 Ray Russell Why Not Now ‎(LP, Album) Theta 834 107-1 Netherlands 1988
SJPCD178 Ray Russell Why Not Now ‎(CD, Album, RE) Angel Air SJPCD178 UK & Europe 2004